International Lunar Observatory Association


"The Primary Goal of the ILO Mission is to Expand Human Understanding of the Cosmos Through Observation from Our Moon."

The ILOA is an interglobal enterprise incorporated in Hawaii as a 501(c)(3) non-profit to help realize the multifunctional ILO -- to advance human knowledge of the Cosmos through observation from our Moon, and to participate in lunar base build-out. The ILOA also since 2008 has co-sponsored with its Space Age Publishing Company affiliate an international series of Galaxy Forums and a Lunar Commercial Communications Workshop.


ILOA Board of Directors

Steve Durst, Waimea, Hawai`i: Founding Director of ILOA is also Editor and Publisher of Space Age Publishing Company. Active advocate and supporter of Space and Lunar Enterprise, and 21st Century Galaxy Education.

Kimo Pihana, Hilo, Hawaii: Native Hawaiian Kahuna and Cultural Practitioner, former Mauna Kea Ranger.

Ziyuan Ouyang, Beijing, China: Academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), and Chief Scientist of Chinese Lunar Exploration Program (Chang'e program).

Jean-Luc Josset, Neuch√Ętel, Switzerland: CEO of Space Exploration Institute. Principle Investigator of AMIE Camera which orbited the Moon aboard the ESA SMART-1 spacecraft.

Christian Veillet, Tucson, Arizona: Astronomer. Director Of Large Binocular Telescope Observatory, Former Director of Canada France Hawaii Telescope.

Maohai Huang, Beijing, China: Professor of Astrophysics at NAOC. Made 6 trips to Antarctica for Astrophysical research. Assistant of Chief Lunar Scientist Ziyuan Ouyang. PhD Graduate of BU.

Yuki Takahashi, Kamuela, Hawaii: Astrophysicist, graduate of UC Berkeley, PhD research conducted on Astronomy from Antarctica. Previously worked as a Radio Frequency engineer at SpaceX. Currently supports ILOA Galaxy Forum and Space Age Publishing Company.

David Schrunk, Poway, California: Doctor of Nuclear Medicine. B.S. in Aerospace Engineering & Author of The Moon: Resources, Future Development, and Settlement.

Christian Sallaberger, Toronto, Canada: President of Canadensys Aerospace Corporation. Board of Trustee Chairman for International Space University (ISU) and Adjunct Professor at University of Toronto.

Shawna Pandya, Edmonton, Canada: Medical Doctor. CMO for CiviGuard, Inc. ISU graduate. Research interests include space medicine and telemedicine. Currently works as instructor at PoSSUM Citizen Scientist astronauts, and at Sea Space Exploration & Research Society.

Robert Richards, Toronto, Canada: Space entrepreneur and futurist. Co-Founder of ISU, Singularity University, SEDS. Co-Founder and CEO of Moon Express & Co-chair for Exploration Committee of the Commercial Spaceflight Federation.

Jeffrey A. Hoffman, Cambridge, Massachusetts: Professor, Aeronautics and Astronautics at MIT, NASA Astronaut with five flights 1978-1997; has logged more than 1,211 hours and 21.5 million miles in space.

Trond Krovel, Konstanz Area, Germany: AOCS and GNC Engineer at EADS Astrium. ISU graduate. Former President of SSETI.

Jinliang Hou, Shanghai, China: Shanghai Astronomical Observatory CAS, Vice Director Research Center for Galaxies and Cosmology.

Peter Martinez, Cape Town, South Africa: Executive Director of the Secure World Foundation; Space Studies Program at University of Cape Town. Formerly Division Head for Space Science & Technology at the South African Astronomical Observatory.

Bill Carswell, Huntsville, Alabama: PhD in Space Materials Processing. Project Management Specialist.

Misuzu Onuki, Tokyo, Japan: Space entrepreneur. Experience with JAXA, commercial space initiatives, and Space Access Japan. First non-USA citizen invited to be a SFF advocate. Serves on World Space Week Board of Directors and at Space Frontier fund as a fund manager and Senior Vice President of SPARX Innovation for Future.

Joseph Sulla, Honokaa, Hawaii: ILOA Consultant & Member of ILOA Executive Committee.

Chatief Kunjaya, East Java, Indonesia: Perkenalan Rektor Terpilih / Elected Rector 2015-2019 at Ma Chung University in East Java.

Boonrucksar Soonthornthum, Chiang Mai, Thailand: Director of the National Astronomical Research Institute of Thailand.

Diego Mardones, Santiago, Chile: Professor of Astronomy at University of Chile, Santiago.

Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia: First Malaysia Astronaut, and an orthopedic surgeon; flew to ISS aboard Soyuz TMA-11 with Expedition 16 crew Oct 2007; Supports Malaysian Astronaut Foundation, is Co-Founder of Aladdin Group Dato.

Naoko Yamazaki, Tokyo, Japan: Second Japan woman to fly in space, accumulated more than 15 days at ISS April 2010 flying on Space Shuttle Discovery STS-131; is on the Japan Cabinet Office Space Policy Committee, advisor for Young Astronauts Club - Japan, and a director of Japan Rocket Society.

Ir. Arry Buchori Darmansyah MM, Jakarta, Indonesia: President Director of 2-hectare, space-themed recreation park Among Putro SkyWorld Indonesia; entrepreneur / businessman.

Jonathan Hung, Singapore: President of Singapore Space and Technology Association (SSTA); serves on the Board of Air Transport Training College, Synspective Pte. Ltd., and sits on the ExCom for the Asia Pacific Regional Space Agency Forum.

Maria Antonietta Perino, Torino, Italy: Director International Relations for Exploration and Science Programs at Thales Alenia Space Italia; holds a degree in nuclear engineering; alumna and faculty of International Space University; is a member of the Academie de l'Air et de l'Espace and of the International Academy of Astronautics, and former Vice President of the International Astronautical Federation Bureau. Recently awarded "Stella al Merito del Lavoro" by the President of the Italian Republic.

Huimin Qin Warbus, Keaau, Hawaii: China Consultant for ILOA; M. A. in China-US Relations, M. E. in Civil Engineering; Senior project engineer and technology specialist.

Ad Astra:

Commander John Young (2018): Retired NASA Astronaut. Longest career of any USA Astronaut, making 7 space flights over course of 42 years of service. 3 Moonwalks during Apollo 16. Piloted Gemini, Apollo Command/Service Module, Apollo Lunar Module, Lunar Roving Vehicle & Space Shuttle. Awarded the "Astronaut of the Century" memorial plaque by ILOA in 2012 and served instructively and inspirationally as ILOA Director Emeritus since addressing the ILOA Founders Meeting in 2007.

Prof. U.R. Rao (2017): Served as chairman of the Governing Council of the Physical Research Laboratory in Ahmedabad. Former chairman of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO). Great India scientist, humanitarian and space visionary. One of the Founding Directors of ILOA.

Paul Lowman (2011): Geophysicist at Goddard Space Flight Center, Lowman helped plan early Apollo missions, and analyzed lunar samples and data from Apollo 15 and Apollo 16; Author and self-educated astronomer. First ILOA Chief Scientist.

Jim Benson (2008): American entrepreneur, founder of Benson Space Company and SpaceDev; served as ILOA Advisor, Contractor, Supporter from 2000 onward.


Click here to find more information about the ILO, ILOA, and Lunar Commercial Communications Workshops at Space Age Publishing Company's website.